10 Major Leaguers Nominated For 48th Annual Hutch Award

Ten distinguished Major League Baseball players are in the running for the 48th Hutch Award®. Of the finalists, one will go on to receive the award and visit Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

The award will be announced this fall and presented at the annual Hutch Award Luncheon on Jan. 30, 2013 at Seattle’s Safeco Field. Baseball icon Lou Piniella will give the keynote address, and proceeds will benefit early cancer detection research at Fred Hutch.

This year’s nominees are:

    Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
    Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners
    Ryan Ludwick, Cincinnati Reds
    Brandon McCarthy, Oakland Athletics
    Logan Morrison, Miami Marlins
    Jake Peavy, Chicago White Sox
    Dan Uggla, Atlanta Braves
    Rickie Weeks, Milwaukee Brewers
    Ryan Zimmerman, Washington Nationals
    Barry Zito, San Francisco Giants

The Hutch Award recipient is selected through a vote of all surviving former awardees. A total of 47 players have been honored since 1965, when Mickey Mantle accepted the inaugural award. Early recipients include Sandy Koufax, Carl Yastrzemski, Willie McCovey and Lou Brock. More recently Jamie Moyer, Craig Biggio, Jon Lester, Tim Hudson and Billy Butler have joined their ranks.

The award is given annually to a Major League Baseball player who best exemplifies the honor, courage and dedication of baseball legend and manager Fred Hutchinson. Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center – founded by Fred’s brother, Dr. Bill Hutchinson, after Fred succumbed to cancer at age 45 – is an independent, nonprofit research institution dedicated to the understanding, treatment and prevention of cancer and related diseases.


  1. My brother recommended I may like this website. He was entirely right.
    This submit truly made my day. You cann’t consider simply
    how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

Speak Your Mind